Facebook Writing Communities

16 Mar

latteI was so excited to get feedback on my latest revision that I actually showed up at our meeting place a half hour early for my critique group meeting. I’m never early to anything! That’s okay, I’ll just have a nice latte and browse Facebook while I wait. th-4 Facebook is my newest addiction. But I must say it’s because I’ve met so many wonderful authors and illustrators in the writing communities. I belong to several organized groups and I enjoy each one. I’ve noticed there are many of the same people on the same sites I am. It seems we swim in the same schools. That’s okay too, as a matter of fact, that’s better than okay. I’ve gotten to know some of these people pretty well, and I know who’s judgement I can trust, who will challenge my thinking, and who I can go to with my questions. th-2In addition to the groups, I’ve found that writers share openly. No matter what time of the day or night, I know I can always find an interesting article or two to read on Facebook. I’ll learn of a new revising strategy, a plotting technique, an agent accepting submissions, an editor’s wish list, blogging recommendations, or a writing contest. th-3Undoubtedly, I’ll find another recommendation for my own reading. I usually keep my library site open on another tab and when I hear of another great must-read, I add it to my holds list. I know that when I get home today there will be an automated call on my phone from the library telling me that books I have on hold are ready to be picked up. I’ll probably just grin, delete the message, and sit down to read my new selections (because of course, I’ll have stopped on my way home).   So, really, an unscheduled half hour is just the warm-up I need for my critique group. Thanks writing pals!

10 Responses to “Facebook Writing Communities”

  1. writersideup March 19, 2015 at 12:23 PM #

    OK, Julianna,first—I want that cup of cappucino! 😀 LOVE the pic of Mickey and adore this library setting. Is that the children’s section in your local library?

    Sadly, I don’t have time for groups, at least not yet. Maybe someday. And I keep my library busy, too 🙂 It’s such a happy visit, picking up all those books!

    Like

    • Juliana Lee March 19, 2015 at 3:04 PM #

      I just returned from another run to the library! But, no this isn’t my library, just some random picture I found online which ‘spoke to me’. I sure hope you get a chance to join a writing group soon. They are invaluable for bouncing ideas off each other and looking at your work critically. I’m actually in two critique groups which meet twice a month in addition to my monthly SCBWI meeting, so I get to interact with writers at least 5 times a month… pretty lucky!

      Like

      • writersideup March 19, 2015 at 3:30 PM #

        It sounds great, Juliana 🙂 I can’t even find time to write, let alone groups. Keep trying to make that change!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. trinitygrau March 17, 2015 at 3:05 PM #

    I’ve never considered going on Facebook (mostly because my parents won’t let me), but it’s an encouragement to see how well you are doing! From your light-hearted reviews of kid’s books, it looks like your writing is going to be just as great!

    Like

    • Juliana Lee March 17, 2015 at 3:08 PM #

      Aw, thank you. I hope my future books are enjoyed by many. I would love to have you review one yourself someday. Until then, I’ll keep writing and you stay of Facebook until your parents say it’s okay… then look me up! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • trinitygrau March 17, 2015 at 3:11 PM #

        I would totally review your books when you’re finished with them! They sound very nice.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Keila Dawson March 16, 2015 at 3:39 PM #

    True indeed. Nicest people create for kids!

    Like

    • Juliana Lee March 16, 2015 at 5:05 PM #

      I agree, Keila! You’ve got to have a big heart to work with kids!

      Like

  4. Jane Heitman Healy March 16, 2015 at 3:26 PM #

    I agree, Juliana! We can always find friends and good writing advice on FaceBook. So glad to meet you there!

    Like

    • Juliana Lee March 16, 2015 at 5:04 PM #

      Thanks, Jane! It’s wonderful to get to know you online too!

      Like

Leave a comment