The Dark Cloud of Rejections

29 Jun

This has been a whirlwind month of joyous events. I have celebrated graduations, retirements, weddings, Father’s Days, birthdays, and anniversaries. I am surrounded by family and friends. I feel loved every single day. Even little activities like critique meetings, lunches, shopping, movie dates, and coffee with friends, fill me with delight.

Then I received back to back rejections on submissions.

dark_clouds1

Gloom. Melancholy. Dejection.

Choices.

1. Grouse. (Not my style.)

2. Wallow in misery. (That sounds more like me.)

3. Reappraise the situation. (After a brief period of mourning.)

So I did a little shopping around and found a new umbrella. I kind of like this one. Bright. Cheery. Metaphorically speaking, just what I need. th

Now, under the protection of my bright, cheerful, metaphorical umbrella I can analyze the facts. Both of the rejections were polite, friendly even. Both were addressed to me by name. Both thanked me for sharing my work with them. Both reminded me that other people in the industry might be interested in representing me. Both wished me luck on my publishing journey. Neither suggested I quit writing. Neither recommended I reevaluate of my goals. Neither advised me to tear up my manuscript and never contact them again.

Look… the clouds are passing. I have renewed energy and a positive attitude. I will wait to hear from others on the submissions that are pending and I will spend the day working on my new project. But before I do, I might just take a minute to splash in the puddles!

th-2

12 Responses to “The Dark Cloud of Rejections”

  1. writersideup August 5, 2015 at 9:42 PM #

    The whole submission process has been one of the toughest roller coasters I’ve ever ridden. It’s not always easy picking ourselves up and wiping ourselves off, but — we must! 😀

    Like

    • Juliana Lee August 6, 2015 at 1:50 PM #

      Yes, it’s a tough business, but that will only make the success so much sweeter!

      Like

      • writersideup August 6, 2015 at 1:59 PM #

        That’s very true 🙂 Lately I’m having a harder time thinking “when” instead of “if”! We’ll see!…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanae V. McCoy July 8, 2015 at 2:27 PM #

    I just read another blog post on rejection letters and while it may be hurtful for a minute he explained that he’d much rather recieve a reject letter (personal or not) than to not hear anything. His exact words were “For writers, however, it is one thing to be rejected. It is another thing altogether to be denied a rejection. To me, having a rejection withheld is far, far worse.” So take heart and know that your time will come for your work to be accepted.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Heitman Healy June 29, 2015 at 1:04 PM #

    Splash away. It won’t be long before someone says, “YES”!

    Like

    • Juliana Lee June 29, 2015 at 1:57 PM #

      Thanks Jane! But no one’s going to say YES unless I get back to work!

      Like

  4. Keila Dawson June 29, 2015 at 12:22 PM #

    Love your ‘tude, never quit! Keep looking for the right fit.

    Like

    • Juliana Lee June 29, 2015 at 12:51 PM #

      Thanks Keila! If it were easy, everyone would do it!

      Like

Leave a comment