Fifteen Faves of Twenty Fifteen

2 Jan

imagesI’ve read hundreds of picture books this past year! My main goal was to discover the newest published picture books and share the ones I liked with an audience of teachers, parents, and anyone who reads to children. I feel so fortunate to have read and learned from over 360 books! Of course, as I read, I would stop and think ‘I love this book’. I would close my eyes and imagine reading it again to my granddaughters or to a room full of uplifted faces. Some books touched my heart, some tickled my funny bone, and some simply wormed their way into my mind and wouldn’t let go! These are the books I added to my list of mentor texts to inform my own writing.

 

FastFiftyNumber15Not using any specific criteria, these became my top picks for 2015. Below are my Fifteen Faves of Twenty Fifteen listed alphabetically (by title). You can click on the title of each book to read my summary of the story and see the activities I chose to go with each book.

25241553

Bear and Bunny by Daniel Pinkwater and Will Hillenbrand

21535487

The Blue Whale by Jenni Desmond

22236651

Bunnies! by Kevan Atteberry

22484277I Wish You More by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Tom Lichtenheld

23358986

Lady Pancake and Sir French Toast by Josh Funk and Brendan Kearney

24905361

Leo, A Ghost Story by Marc Barnett and Christian Robinson

23846038Little Tree by Loren Long

25745002

Mother Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins

23310739

Nerdy Birdy by Aaron Reynolds and Matt Davies

25071641

The Peddler’s Bed by Lauri Fortino and Bong Redila

23080135

A Rock Can Be… by Laura Purdie Salas and Violeta Dabija

22750405Seaver the Weaver by Paul Czajak and The Brothers Hilts

22749702Stick and Stone by Beth Ferry and Tom Lichtenheld

23309856

Those Pesky Rabbits by Ciara Flood

22747809

Yard Sale by Eve Bunting and Lauren Castillo

*****

And just because 15 is too hard to choose… here are the 5 runner ups making my list Twenty Fifteen!

25241547

Ketzel, The Cat Who Composed by Leslea Newman and Amy June Bates

19523456

Miss Hazeltine’s Home for Shy and Fearful Cats by Alicia Potter and Brigitta Sif

23309636

One Word From Sophia by Jim Averbeck and Yasmeen Ismail

22725320

Soon by Timothy Knapman and Patrick Benson

26171165Swan: The Life and Dance of Anna Pavlova by Laurel Snyder and Julie Morstad

14 Responses to “Fifteen Faves of Twenty Fifteen”

  1. Laura Purdie Salas January 5, 2016 at 9:03 AM #

    Thank you, Juliana! Honored to have my book included here–I love SWAN, NERDY BIRDY, SIR PANCAKE, and a few others. And then some I’ve never heard of! Off to add things to my To read shelf:>)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee January 5, 2016 at 9:56 AM #

      Thank you Laura! I really admire your work. Last year I fell in love with Water Can Be, so I knew I was going to love A Rock Can Be before I even read it!

      Like

  2. Patricia Tilton January 4, 2016 at 7:37 PM #

    Have only read a couple of the books! Thanks for the suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee January 4, 2016 at 8:46 PM #

      Hi Pat. These are not the same books you might find on the more popular lists… but they’re the ones I like. Hope you do too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Heitman Healy January 4, 2016 at 9:47 AM #

    Thanks for this great list, Juliana. There are still several of these I haven’t gotten my hands (or eyes) on yet! The pressure’s on, as 2016 titles will be flooding in!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee January 4, 2016 at 9:50 AM #

      Yes, I know Jane. I’ve already got quite a list in my queue at the library. I’m not going to review as many as I did last year, but a few of my favorites will hit the blog I’m sure. I’ll still add them to my Goodreads list if you want to follow there as well. 🙂

      Like

  4. Viki Woodworth January 4, 2016 at 9:13 AM #

    This is such a great list, Juliana! I shared it with my daughter who’s teaching preschool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee January 4, 2016 at 9:40 AM #

      Thank you Viki! For the compliment and the share! So glad it’s useful. 🙂

      Like

  5. Ciara Flood January 4, 2016 at 5:12 AM #

    Thanks Juliana for including my book on your list – an honour indeed to be alongside so many gorgeous books : )

    Like

    • Juliana Lee January 4, 2016 at 9:42 AM #

      You are so welcome, Ciara! My granddaughter loves this book! Just yesterday, my daughter-in-law mentioned it in a conversation about ‘time outs’. Apparently my 3 year old granddaughter told her mother that the rabbits were ‘not making good choices’ when they messed up the kitchen! Had to smile!

      Like

  6. Lauri Fortino January 2, 2016 at 6:22 PM #

    Juliana, I’m thrilled you chose my book as one of your 15 favorites of 2015! It’s an honor to be in such fine company too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. marialberg January 2, 2016 at 5:45 PM #

    Thank you for this great list!

    Like

    • Juliana Lee January 3, 2016 at 8:42 PM #

      You are so welcome! It’s a labor of love. Happy you enjoyed it!

      Like

Leave a comment