Dreams

5 Feb

How many of you dream about work? Everyone, right? When I was teaching I practically couldn’t sleep the night before the first day of school, a big observation, or parent conferences. And when I finally did fall off to sleep it wasn’t the peaceful, refreshing, life-affirming sleep of the innocent. No, it was terrible nightmares of showing up naked, or being the only one in the room and wondering where everyone else was, or seeing everyone else was completely Pinterest prepared with color-coded folders and eye-catching charts while I was knee deep in plain cardboard boxes.

Well this is my third year of retirement and I can honestly say those dreams are finally starting to fade, although I still have the occasional dream of a coworker showing up in some odd non-work related situation or the one where I wake up looking for something. But what hasn’t changed is the fact that I do dream about work.

Lately, I’ve been dreaming about writing related things, sort of. I’ve actually dreamed that I was typing my dream onto a computer screen. I’ve met authors in line at the coffee shop, pruning roses, and cleaning the oven. I’ve gotten lost driving to a critique meeting in the middle of the sea. I’ve even returned my library books and shopped for journals while flying. Oh, yeah, and last night I woke up looking for my chalk… I guess some things never change.

So what is it about weird dreams? Are they like Scrooge said, a “bit of beef, a blot of mustard, a crumb of cheese, a fragment of underdone potato”? Or as Freud said, “most profound when they seem the most crazy”?

We may never know, but for now, I’m glad that my dreams are more reflective (so to speak) of my new work and what I want to do when I wake up.

Dream

 

4 Responses to “Dreams”

  1. Patricia Tilton February 5, 2016 at 9:06 PM #

    I love journaling dreams. Have done so for years! I always like to think that every character in my dream is an aspect of myself as I interpret them. It’s fun to watch the patterns too. I was always taught to write my dreams down before I stepped out of bed because the minute you stand up, they run out of your feet and can be lost. Fun post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee February 6, 2016 at 11:56 AM #

      Isn’t that the truth! Sometimes, even as I lay in bed trying to recall a dream the details slip away faster than I can gather them!

      Like

  2. Lauri Fortino February 5, 2016 at 4:11 PM #

    I dream about work too, though not as much lately. Besides writing, I’ve had several different jobs in my lifetime and what’s weird is sometimes the dream combines jobs. So I might be cutting fabric (one job) in a flower shop (another job) while working with people from the library (my current job). What I dream about most often is being late or lost. I’m trying desperately to get somewhere, but never quite make it. What could that mean? I haven’t yet dreamed about writing. Wish I would!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee February 5, 2016 at 7:36 PM #

      I have no idea what my dreams mean either! I think the feeling of being lost or late is pretty common. I remember having a recurring dream after college where I realized I hadn’t taken one of my required classes. Thank goodness I escaped with my diploma! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment