A Moment in Time

12 Apr

35631584Today’s moment was when David Wiesner, three time Caldecott Award winner, spoke to a group of fans. He shared his perspective on writing and illustrating. And, he took us through the process of writing his newest picture book, I GOT IT!  Like many stories, I GOT IT! focuses on one moment in time which is stretched out across 32 pages. Pulled from his boyhood memories of playing baseball in the neighbor’s back yard, David illustrated the actual and imagined circumstances surrounding the moment when the smallest outfielder is confronted with a fly ball.

138069Of course I picked up my own copy of I GOT IT! as well as a new copy of THE THREE PIGS. Along with most of my picture books, this one was left to a new teacher when I retired. But how many times do I have the opportunity to own a signed Caldecott Award winning picture book? Answer: Four to date.

 

(Another thing I learned is that a Caldecott Award winning autograph does not have to be legible, It’s a good thing the artwork is so fierce.)

IMG_1262

 

Among the many fans in attendance were three legendary Cincinnati illustrators, who agreed to stand for a photo. From left to right: Loren Long, David Wiesner, Will Hillenbrand, and C.F. Payne.

IMG_1258

 

Thanks to Joseph-Beth Booksellers for bringing another amazing author and illustrator to Cincinnati.  Look up some of David’s other picture books in your local bookstore.

 

 

Oh yeah, and that moment when I got my picture taken with David Wiesner!IMG_1261

 

6 Responses to “A Moment in Time”

  1. Patricia Tilton April 13, 2018 at 10:08 PM #

    Lucky you! I have always loved David Wiesner’s books. Will have to check out his new books. Love the covers on both, especially the Three Little Pigs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee April 17, 2018 at 5:21 PM #

      Yes, lucky, Pat! I keep an eye (and ear) out for news of kid lit authors who visit our area. Our bookstores are pretty awesome about inviting extraordinary talent to Cincinnati.

      Like

  2. karenhenryclark April 13, 2018 at 8:10 AM #

    What a moment to treasure. His books are among my favorites. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jheitman22 April 12, 2018 at 10:15 PM #

    Wow, what a day with kidlit dignitaries! Thanks for the peek into Wiesner’s newest!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee April 13, 2018 at 12:06 AM #

      My pleasure Jane. It was an honor for me! Pick up his newest, you won’t be disappointed!

      Like

Leave a comment