Energy Enthusiasm Excitement

2 Dec

IMG_7342 copy

Energy. Enthusiasm. Excitement. These three words perfectly describe Sherri Duskey Rinker, author of the Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site series and several other books for young people.

Sherri must have been exhausted, she had already had two school visits that day. Yet here she came, eager to meet more fans.

Hosted by The Blue Manatee Bookstore she was here to talk to her audience… a loud rambunctious crowd to say the least. And talk she did. To them. On their level. Matching their energy, enthusiasm, and excitement note for note.

 

IMG_7346 copy            IMG_7347 copy

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sherri asked them questions, responded to their questions (and sometimes off-topic comments), and told them stories about herself. And of course she read her newest book, Construction Site on Christmas Night.

IMG_7351

Every eye was focused on the book. Every ear was tuned into the story.  She totally had these kids… mind, body, and spirit. I was in awe of her.

On the way to dinner, I asked my granddaughters what they liked the best. The six year old liked Sherri’s story about her sons. She even compared them to herself and her sister, saying that she goes right to sleep after her stories but that her sister does not. And she liked that the author wrote all their names in the book. The three year old said she wanted chicken nuggets and fries, but not the orange fries her mommy gave her the other day… those were yucky. Yep, even my own prodigy can be off-topic at times!

Thanks for coming to Cincinnati, Sherri! So glad I got to meet you in real life! me and sherry

 

Off topic post script: Orange fries are NOT yucky. Mommy is right, they’re better for you than regular french fries.

 

 

4 Responses to “Energy Enthusiasm Excitement”

  1. Patricia Tilton December 3, 2018 at 1:08 PM #

    This is one popular book this Christmas — it took me over a week to get my two copies for great grandchildren. They love this story. Lucky you getting to take grandkids with you to meet the author, hear the story and get their books autographed. I used to do that years ago with my daughter and miss it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Juliana Lee December 3, 2018 at 2:35 PM #

      So glad you got some copies for yourself. My girls were very excited!

      Like

  2. Kathy Halsey December 2, 2018 at 9:50 PM #

    I would love to see Sherri in action with kids. I’ve seen her several times at Mazza w/adult writers. educators, and PB aficionados. Glad dy and the grands got to experience her.

    Like

    • Juliana Lee December 2, 2018 at 10:37 PM #

      Lucky you! I wish I’d had some time to hear her speak to writers. I need all the advice I can get!

      Like

Leave a comment